ULTRA Rules Typo Reporting

Home of discussions about Ultra Starfire (5th edition) and its predecessor Galactic Starfire (4th edition).

Moderators: SDS Owner, SDS Members

Forum rules
1. Nothing obscene.
2. No advertising or spamming.
3. No personal information. Mostly aimed at the posting of OTHER people's information.
4. No flame wars. We encourage debate, but it becomes a flame when insults fly and tempers flare.

Try to stick with the forum's topic. Threads that belong to another forum will be moved to that forum.

Re: ULTRA Rules Typo Reporting

Postby Elminster on Fri 12 Nov 2010 08:02

Not sure about this, but:

ApxAA_Tech Con.04.1 Upgrading hull generation, last sentence
"..., other undersized hulls can be increased in size as long as the Hull Type (i.e. DD, BB, etc) and Hull Generation are not changed."

If I'm not allowed to change the Hull Generation, does this mean I have to increase the size to normal maximum, and than I can upgrade the Generation?

Or is this a typo, and Hull Improvement (Dense, Thick) is meant?
In memory of Gary Gygax
In memory of Leonard Nimoy
In memory of Christopher Lee

In memory of Albert Einstein
E = MC^2 + 1d10
User avatar
Elminster
Sky Marshal
Sky Marshal
 
Posts: 2048
Joined: Tue 22 Jun 2010 00:54
Location: Ganderkesee, Germany

Re: ULTRA Rules Typo Reporting

Postby Starfire on Fri 12 Nov 2010 17:39

No, its hull generation, though Hull Improvement can not be changed either.

Hull generation is part of the determining maximum size, so it can not be upgraded.
Nerf Rock, Paper is fine. Signed: Scissors.
Nerf Scissors, Rock is fine. Signed: Paper.
Nerf Paper, Scissors are fine. Signed: Rock.
User avatar
Starfire
Marvin Lamb
Marvin Lamb
 
Posts: 799
Joined: Tue 30 Jun 2009 19:59
Location: The Villages, FL

Re: ULTRA Rules Typo Reporting

Postby Cralis on Fri 12 Nov 2010 18:02

Elminster wrote:Not sure about this, but:

ApxAA_Tech Con.04.1 Upgrading hull generation, last sentence
"..., other undersized hulls can be increased in size as long as the Hull Type (i.e. DD, BB, etc) and Hull Generation are not changed."

If I'm not allowed to change the Hull Generation, does this mean I have to increase the size to normal maximum, and than I can upgrade the Generation?

Or is this a typo, and Hull Improvement (Dense, Thick) is meant?


As Marvin says, it is not a typo.

However, what I'm not sure maybe Marvin can answer. Is this rule intended to:

A> allow you to upgrade a hull from an undersized value to the maximum size for the same generation? For example, an undersized DDa of 25 HS can be upgraded to 30 HS (the maximum size for DDa).

or B> this rule is intended to allow you to upgrade the actual generation of the hull, and to the maximum HS for the new generation.

The problem with <B> is that the rule says "hull generation is unchanged". That would seem to me that <A> is correct.
Image
User avatar
Cralis
SDS Member
SDS Member
 
Posts: 11232
Joined: Tue 30 Jun 2009 19:27
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: ULTRA Rules Typo Reporting

Postby Elminster on Fri 12 Nov 2010 18:27

Starfire wrote:No, its hull generation, though Hull Improvement can not be changed either.

Then the example in ApxFF_Examples Con.04.1 has a strange wording. It begins with "An existing DD design prior to Basic Hulls:".
Then the DD will be cut in half and additional HS inserted.

For me this suggests upgrading an Alpha Hull to Basic Hull.
In memory of Gary Gygax
In memory of Leonard Nimoy
In memory of Christopher Lee

In memory of Albert Einstein
E = MC^2 + 1d10
User avatar
Elminster
Sky Marshal
Sky Marshal
 
Posts: 2048
Joined: Tue 22 Jun 2010 00:54
Location: Ganderkesee, Germany

Re: ULTRA Rules Typo Reporting

Postby Starfire on Fri 12 Nov 2010 20:36

Ya, your right. That one slipped through.

It should read.
Con 4.01 should read
When Con.04 is being used, other undersized hulls can be increased in size as long as the Hull Type (i.e. DD, BB, etc.) and Hull Improvement are not changed.
Nerf Rock, Paper is fine. Signed: Scissors.
Nerf Scissors, Rock is fine. Signed: Paper.
Nerf Paper, Scissors are fine. Signed: Rock.
User avatar
Starfire
Marvin Lamb
Marvin Lamb
 
Posts: 799
Joined: Tue 30 Jun 2009 19:59
Location: The Villages, FL

Re: ULTRA Rules Typo Reporting

Postby Xveers on Fri 12 Nov 2010 21:19

Starfire wrote:Ya, your right. That one slipped through.

It should read.
Con 4.01 should read
When Con.04 is being used, other undersized hulls can be increased in size as long as the Hull Type (i.e. DD, BB, etc.) and Hull Improvement are not changed.


So, to provide iron-clad ruling, it means:

1) a size 24 HS DD can be expanded to a 30 HS DD.
2) a DD can be expanded to a DDb (from 30 to 35 HS)
3) a DD -cannot- be turned into a DDf, or be given dense/thick hulls.
4) a DD -cannot- be expanded into a CL, or cut down to be a FG.
User avatar
Xveers
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral
 
Posts: 824
Joined: Wed 15 Jul 2009 02:26
Location: New Westminster, BC, Canada

Re: ULTRA Rules Typo Reporting

Postby Elminster on Sat 13 Nov 2010 03:29

Xveers wrote:1) a size 24 HS DD can be expanded to a 30 HS DD.
2) a DD can be expanded to a DDb (from 30 to 35 HS)

That's the point.
Can I upgrade a 24 HS DDa directly to a 35 HS DDb?
Or must I enlarge it to 30 HS and then upgrade to 35 HS?

I would say the first, as it makes no difference to the cost (I think), and as soon as the 24 HS is enlarged it is allowed to be upgraded anyway.
In memory of Gary Gygax
In memory of Leonard Nimoy
In memory of Christopher Lee

In memory of Albert Einstein
E = MC^2 + 1d10
User avatar
Elminster
Sky Marshal
Sky Marshal
 
Posts: 2048
Joined: Tue 22 Jun 2010 00:54
Location: Ganderkesee, Germany

Re: ULTRA Rules Typo Reporting

Postby Starfire on Sun 14 Nov 2010 07:06

Can I upgrade a 24 HS DDa directly to a 35 HS DDb?


Yes
Nerf Rock, Paper is fine. Signed: Scissors.
Nerf Scissors, Rock is fine. Signed: Paper.
Nerf Paper, Scissors are fine. Signed: Rock.
User avatar
Starfire
Marvin Lamb
Marvin Lamb
 
Posts: 799
Joined: Tue 30 Jun 2009 19:59
Location: The Villages, FL

Re: ULTRA Rules Typo Reporting

Postby Elminster on Wed 17 Nov 2010 02:18

In D5.08 are two formulas.

The first is placed between the lines of the passage from D5.08 but actually belongs to D5.08.1.

The second is placed just below the "Speed Adjustment Table" from D5.08.1 and belongs to D5.08.2 which is mentioned there by "... the following formula:".

The two formulas should be arranged according to their rule. ;)
In memory of Gary Gygax
In memory of Leonard Nimoy
In memory of Christopher Lee

In memory of Albert Einstein
E = MC^2 + 1d10
User avatar
Elminster
Sky Marshal
Sky Marshal
 
Posts: 2048
Joined: Tue 22 Jun 2010 00:54
Location: Ganderkesee, Germany

Re: ULTRA Rules Typo Reporting

Postby Elminster on Thu 25 Nov 2010 09:26

V4.03 Pillage
The last sentence isn't finished.

ApxAA_Tech Z
Requires EL 2
I think this should be Elec 2, as it is a branch from the Electronics tree.
In memory of Gary Gygax
In memory of Leonard Nimoy
In memory of Christopher Lee

In memory of Albert Einstein
E = MC^2 + 1d10
User avatar
Elminster
Sky Marshal
Sky Marshal
 
Posts: 2048
Joined: Tue 22 Jun 2010 00:54
Location: Ganderkesee, Germany

PreviousNext

Return to Ultra Starfire

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron