Questions ...

A slightly Modified Ultra Campaign

Moderator: Xveers

Questions ...

Postby kedrake on Mon 21 Jul 2014 13:16

Lets say an player gets the breakthrough at SL2 for Capital Sensors. The first SL in Capital Sensors is a Critical Project success. Does this in fact mean the player will need to roll 3 breakthroughs in total? (one to open the Tree and 2 to gain the the first SL in that tree)?
Remember: No matter where you go, there you are.
kedrake
Lieutenant Commander
Lieutenant Commander
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat 24 Dec 2011 03:05
Location: New Hampshire, USA

Re: Questions ...

Postby Lomn on Mon 21 Jul 2014 13:29

No. Critical projects do not require breakthrough rolls.

Instead, they require you to succeed twice* on the R&D completion roll, per N8.01.3. They also have nastier "critical failure" results (which are not restricted to critical projects, despite the name).

So the path to capital sensors is: one success on the Y SL2 project, then one breakthrough to open the Yc branch, then two successes on the Yc SL2 project, then one success on the Yca project. You might also be able to apply a second breakthrough to convert the Yc SL2 project to a normal project (N11.04 C), but this is not required.

* the noteworthy exception is that a critical failure on a critical project will reset you back to needing two successes even if you've already gotten one.

By the way, I've enjoyed following your write-up.
User avatar
Lomn
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral
 
Posts: 519
Joined: Tue 30 Oct 2012 08:19
Location: MSFC, Alabama

Re: Questions ...

Postby Cralis on Mon 21 Jul 2014 21:25

That was perfect Lomn! The critical project is for projects where we've decided it shouldn't be possible to get an early, lucky roll for success. It's "harder" than that.
Image
User avatar
Cralis
SDS Member
SDS Member
 
Posts: 11158
Joined: Tue 30 Jun 2009 19:27
Location: Oregon, USA

New Question

Postby kedrake on Fri 25 Jul 2014 09:44

I rolled a "01" for research into Armor SL2.

What happens now. A focused breakthrough in armor can not be applies until SL4?
Remember: No matter where you go, there you are.
kedrake
Lieutenant Commander
Lieutenant Commander
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat 24 Dec 2011 03:05
Location: New Hampshire, USA

Re: Questions ...

Postby Lomn on Fri 25 Jul 2014 12:28

Good question -- this took me a while to figure out, too. The _1 roll grants you a focused breakthrough. The general rule you're looking for is the fourth paragraph of N11.03:
If a focused breakthrough fails to work in the tree, branch, or twig that generated it (or if there are no valid knots to apply it to), it becomes a random breakthrough and is applied to the Breakthrough Objective List.
User avatar
Lomn
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral
 
Posts: 519
Joined: Tue 30 Oct 2012 08:19
Location: MSFC, Alabama

Re: Questions ...

Postby kedrake on Fri 25 Jul 2014 14:31

Thanks
Remember: No matter where you go, there you are.
kedrake
Lieutenant Commander
Lieutenant Commander
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat 24 Dec 2011 03:05
Location: New Hampshire, USA


Return to A Comedy of Errors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron