Turn 8

A solo SOLAR learning campaign, comments welcome.

Moderator: JoeBuckeye

Turn 8

Postby JoeBuckeye on Fri 02 Aug 2013 07:19

Turn 8

Income
2905.5 MC

2891.1 MC from populations in OH and PA
14.4 MC CFN Leasing Fees (8 x H, 4 x Q)

Maintenance
1594 MC

R&D
868.2 MC

EL 678.2 MC

RDS1 - Y SL2 (+5 RP = 50 RP) 15 MC
RDS2 - Elec SL2 (+5 RP = 50 RP) 15 MC
RDS3 - SmCrft SL2 (+5 RP = 40 RP) 15 MC
RDS4 - L SL2 (+5 RP = 40 RP) 15 MC
RDS5 - R SL2 (+5 RP = 40 RP) 15 MC
RDS6 - Q SL2 (+5 RP = 40 RP) 15 MC

SA1 - Random Breakthrough, 10% chance = 100 MC

Construction
0 MC

Colonization
440 MC
40 PTU to Philadelphia (Benign)

Other
0 MC

Events
Research into R SL2 is successful and generates a breakthrough that removes the knot from research into R SL3. Q SL2 research also succeeds.
The Navy reorganizes itself into two Task Groups, Task Group Ohio is responsible for defense of the Ohio system and consists of the 1st, 2nd, 3rd and Reserve Sqn's and Task Group Pennsylvania is responsible for defense of the Pennsylvania system (mainly Philadelphia) and consists of 4th and 5th Sqn's.
The Survey Fleet is renamed the Survey Group and is broken down into three sub units, Survey Flotilla Alpha and Beta which each consist of 9 x Glenn ES and 8 x Wright EX and Survey Flotilla Gamma which consists of 8 x Glenn ES and 1 x Wright EX. SF Alpha and Beta can each complete a system body survey in 1 StMP.
Joe
JoeBuckeye
Commander
Commander
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun 19 Dec 2010 16:14

Re: Turn 8

Postby JoeBuckeye on Sat 03 Aug 2013 05:18

Research into R SL2 is successful and generates a breakthrough that removes the knot from research into R SL3.


So I just wanted to make sure I did this correctly.

When rolling for R SL2 success I rolled a 01. This meant a focused breakthrough was generated in this tree per N8.01.1. Now R SL3 has a knot and I rolled on N11.05 to apply the focused breakthrough and was successful (90% chance of success). Did I need to roll per N11.05 or can these just be applied directly to the tree since it was generated by N8.01.1 (success roll ending in 1)?
Joe
JoeBuckeye
Commander
Commander
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun 19 Dec 2010 16:14

Re: Turn 8

Postby Vandervecken on Sat 03 Aug 2013 09:07

JoeBuckeye wrote: Did I need to roll per N11.05?
- NO

JoeBuckeye wrote: or can these just be applied directly to the tree since it was generated by N8.01.1 (success roll ending in 1)?
- YES

It is all dependent on N11.03 where at the beginning of the 4th paragraph it says: If a focused breakthrough fails to work in the tree, branch, or twig that generated it (or if there are no valid knots to apply it to), it becomes a random breakthrough and is applied to the Breakthrough Objective List Your breakthrough could be applied so you don't have to roll. At least that is what I think is supposed to happen. Maybe a veteran or a 'Man in Blue could confirm this.

Edit: Thanks Cralis - I must have beaten you by seconds in replying.
Last edited by Vandervecken on Sat 03 Aug 2013 09:11, edited 2 times in total.
I weary of the chasssse. Wait for me. I will be mercccciful and quick.
User avatar
Vandervecken
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
 
Posts: 1247
Joined: Sun 29 Jan 2012 20:21
Location: Minnesnowta

Re: Turn 8

Postby Cralis on Sat 03 Aug 2013 09:07

JoeBuckeye wrote:Did I need to roll per N11.05 or can these just be applied directly to the tree since it was generated by N8.01.1 (success roll ending in 1)?


It says "focused breakthrough success" meaning that it is a as per N11.05 but automatically successful. So no, you didn't have to roll.
Image
User avatar
Cralis
SDS Member
SDS Member
 
Posts: 11326
Joined: Tue 30 Jun 2009 19:27
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: Turn 8

Postby JoeBuckeye on Sat 03 Aug 2013 09:08

Cool, thanks for the confirmation.
Joe
JoeBuckeye
Commander
Commander
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun 19 Dec 2010 16:14

Re: Turn 8

Postby Vandervecken on Sat 03 Aug 2013 09:22

Cralis wrote:It says "focused breakthrough success"


Buckeye,

This is where I got confused when I started my first Solo campaign too as I didn't initially realize that for rules purposes, there was a BIG difference in the rule stating a "focused breakthrough success" as opposed to it just saying a "focused breakthrough". That extra word made all the difference, eh?
I weary of the chasssse. Wait for me. I will be mercccciful and quick.
User avatar
Vandervecken
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
 
Posts: 1247
Joined: Sun 29 Jan 2012 20:21
Location: Minnesnowta

Re: Turn 8

Postby JoeBuckeye on Sat 03 Aug 2013 09:27

Yep, when Cralis pointed that out I realized that I needed to pay more attention to the words that were written in the rules.
Joe
JoeBuckeye
Commander
Commander
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun 19 Dec 2010 16:14


Return to Buckeye Campaign

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron